top of page
  • Writer's pictureTanna

I Miss Myself

Every time I find myself posting on this blog I feel like Lady Whistledown after a hiatus. "Dearest Reader..." I let my creativity go by the wayside every time there is a life event that happens or I just get too busy, and to be honest, that sucks. I wish I didn't work like that and I wish it didn't take so much space and energy to foster an environment for myself that promotes my creativity. For most of my life, I haven't had that space. I'm always mentally fighting something, but the impact that year over year of not having an environment of my design where I feel safe to just make has weighed heavy on my mind lately.


Recently, I moved from a house that I lived in for 3 years where nothing felt like my own. I couldn't put my personal touches on anything, and it slowly killed my spirit. I am the type of person whose environment has effect on every aspect of my being in a single moment- the lighting, the colors, the aesthetics in general have great sway over my mood. It's important for me to have a space free of chaos which reflects some part of my personality in order for me to have the healthiest mindset I possibly can.


I'm optimistic- hopeful, needing- this new space to be what my mind craves it to be. It's coming along nicely so far, a collaborative effort of positivity and good design between my roommate and me. I have a lot more time to myself. There's a large outdoor space that's great for thinking and chilling out. My plants are scattered around the house like my own personal jungle and I am constantly tempted to hop in my car to go buy more. My closet is bigger, but somehow still not enough space for all my clothes. That problem will follow me anywhere I move, I think.


All this being said, my dreams are that the positivity that I have fostered through my new environment will inspire me to write more, to draw more, to sing and play more music, to take more pictures, to come up with creative ideas, to enjoy life to the fullest. Because I am happiest when I am creating. And I miss myself.


♡tanna



112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page